Skip to content
Wakefield Counts — Wakefield, in numbers.Local help →

Wakefield · England

People and living standards

Wakefield council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Wakefield

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Wakefield local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 314,328 in 1991 to 369,450 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Wakefield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 312,568 people in 1996; 369,450 people in 2025. 18.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991314,328
1992314,768
1993314,315
1994313,595
1995312,890
1996312,568
1997312,168
1998313,313
1999313,938
2000314,345
2001315,380
2002316,306
2003317,469
2004318,037
2005318,765
2006320,318
2007321,650
2008323,288
2009324,467
2010325,595
2011326,433
2012327,901
2013329,888
2014331,624
2015333,908
2016337,365
2017340,749
2018344,437
2019348,201
2020350,978
2021353,803
2022357,912
2023362,336
2024366,925
2025369,450
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Wakefield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,200 people in 1996; 68,079 people in 2025. 2.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199164,869
199265,478
199366,171
199466,657
199566,500
199666,200
199766,081
199865,812
199965,722
200065,184
200164,616
200263,844
200363,208
200462,440
200561,819
200661,283
200760,879
200860,635
200960,339
201060,165
201160,112
201260,300
201360,775
201461,302
201561,798
201662,543
201763,530
201864,631
201965,274
202065,617
202165,856
202266,620
202367,516
202468,154
202568,079
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Wakefield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 199,341 people in 1996; 229,879 people in 2025. 15.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991203,497
1992202,766
1993201,411
1994200,292
1995199,530
1996199,341
1997198,917
1998199,988
1999200,248
2000200,748
2001202,002
2002203,373
2003204,643
2004205,549
2005206,493
2006208,209
2007209,493
2008210,549
2009210,951
2010210,956
2011210,758
2012209,960
2013210,041
2014209,699
2015210,398
2016212,116
2017213,661
2018215,339
2019217,388
2020219,201
2021220,897
2022223,198
2023225,620
2024228,374
2025229,879
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Wakefield council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 47,027 people in 1996; 71,492 people in 2025. 52% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,962
199246,524
199346,733
199446,646
199546,860
199647,027
199747,170
199847,513
199947,968
200048,413
200148,762
200249,089
200349,618
200450,048
200550,453
200650,826
200751,278
200852,104
200953,177
201054,474
201155,563
201257,641
201359,072
201460,623
201561,712
201662,706
201763,558
201864,467
201965,539
202066,160
202167,050
202268,094
202369,200
202470,397
202571,492
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 353,370 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wakefield · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh12,6333.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,5161.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups4,9381.4%
White328,74293%
Other ethnic group2,5410.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 325,837 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wakefield · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White310,95795.4%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups2,9280.9%
Asian/Asian British8,4982.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,5120.8%
Other ethnic group9420.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 315,172 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Wakefield · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White308,05097.7%
Mixed1,4470.5%
Asian/Asian British4,4311.4%
Black/Black British4370.1%
Chinese/Other8070.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Wakefield council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,126 per person in 1997; £21,460 per person in 2024. 135.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,126
19989,346
19999,759
200010,284
200110,623
200210,935
200311,429
200411,921
200512,245
200612,640
200713,306
200813,347
200913,598
201013,768
201113,671
201214,092
201314,588
201414,927
201515,634
201615,756
201716,363
201816,892
201917,467
202017,612
202118,158
202219,147
202320,352
202421,460
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Wakefield council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14% in 1997; -17.4% in 2024. 3.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Wakefield council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14
1998-13.7
1999-13.7
2000-13.6
2001-14.1
2002-13.6
2003-12.3
2004-12.2
2005-12.9
2006-13.7
2007-13.3
2008-15.2
2009-15.1
2010-14.8
2011-16.1
2012-16.6
2013-16.7
2014-17.5
2015-17.8
2016-18.2
2017-16.9
2018-17.2
2019-17.1
2020-16.1
2021-16.9
2022-16.6
2023-16.8
2024-17.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

21.4%

21 March 2021 · Wakefield local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.4%

21 March 2021 · Wakefield local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

6.5%

21 March 2021 · Wakefield local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£199,000

July 2026 · Wakefield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£806

August 2026 · Wakefield local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.